Students often shy away from math. But there’s a group of scholars who can’t wait for the Indianapolis Public Schools Annual Math Competition.


Those who earned top scores this year were celebrated on May 14 during the IPS Math Competition Ceremony at Arsenal Technical High School’s Anderson Auditorium.


Each year, teachers throughout the district have students participate in the online competition, which includes tests in a range of skills — from multiplication to algebra to calculus. Tests are based on grade level and contain a different number of questions.

While students aren’t required to participate, most teachers urge them to at least give it a try.


The 2019 IPS Math Competition Winners:


Grade 3

Jeffrey Amstutz

Simon Caldwell

Jairo Cisneros

Caleb Fackler

Estifanos Gebrekidan

Vincent Puckett

Samuel Walsh


Grade 4

Ryan Burke

Evan Dahlie

Yasseen Hamdouchi

Tristan Kinsey

Grade 5

Iris Anderson

Maverick Hoogeveen

Kyan Hurrle

Maxwell Kons

Herbert Omboto

Grade 6

Henry Brown

Elliott DeRyke

Paxton Klitzsch

Hikari Ogawa

Grade 7

Ruth Beery

Nathan Durcholz

Asia Genawi

Madeline Prible


Grade 8

Robert Foley

Zakariyah Johnson

Jonas McDaniel

Emerson Priest

Lillaina Sams

Katherine Shirk

Vivian Walker


Algebra 1

Lucia Caluseriu

Bridget Collins

Claudia Lausch


Gregory Ayris

Henry Bravata

Nielsen Grau

Angus McCutcheon

Azriel Pierre

Stella Winslow

Algebra 2

Emily Barbus

Liam Commons

Langston Graves

Sajida Qaddoura


Zoe Bardon

Juan Escamilla

Destany Gibson



Kenedi Cheatham

Hiqmat Lawal

Kael Neidigh

Amelie Zirnheld

Congratulations, scholars!